David Royko Psy.D

david@davidroyko.com

Book Reviews
by David Royko

 

Royko and (Randy) Newman (National Book Review; Huffington, 2016/2017) 

Immersed: Our Experience  with Autism (Visual Summit), Bruce and Valerie Hal, Huffington Post, December 10, 2016

Suskind's account of his son's triumphs with autism inspires, but it's not universal: Life, Animated (Kingswell), Ron Suskind. Chicago Tribune Printers Row Journal, April 18, 2014

Winslet slings star power against autism: The Golden Hat (Simon & Schuster), Kate Winslet et al. Chicago Tribune Printers Row Journal, April 1, 2012

Memoir drags autism's hidden pains into view: Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir (Harper). Karl Taro Greenfeld. Chicago Tribune, September 12, 2009

A World Apart - Autism and success are not mutually exclusive: Look Me in the Eye - My Life With Asperger's (Crown). John Elder Robison. Chicago Tribune, October 13, 2007

Clara Park continues the story of her daughter's efforts to break through the wall of autism: Exiting Nirvana - A Daughter's Life With Autism (Little, Brown). Clara Park. Chicago Tribune, March 18, 2001

I Feel So Good: The Life and Times of Big Bill Broonzy, (University of Chicago Press), Bob Riesman - a (very) brief book review. May 23, 2013

Bluegrass Portrait - An entertaining, forthright biography of the father of bluegrass music, Bill Monroe: Can't You Hear Me Callin' - The Life of Bill Monroe, Father of Bluegrass (Little, Brown). Richard D. Smith. Chicago Tribune, August 27, 2000

Informal guide is invaluable to bluegrass listeners: Bluegrass: An Informal Guide (a cappella). Richard D. Smith. Chicago Tribune, October 19, 1995

John Wright pays tribute to Ralph Stanley: Traveling the High Way Home: Ralph Stanley and the World of Traditional Bluegrass Music (University of Illinois Press). John Wright. Feature on the book. Chicago Tribune, April 19, 1994

Jazz Biography: Ascension - John Coltrane and his Quest (St. Martins). Eric Nisenson. New York Times, January 9, 1994 

Everything you want to know about jazz recordings: The Penguin Guide to Jazz on CD, LP & Cassette (Penguin). Richard Cook and Brian Morton. Chicago Tribune, August 23, 1993